Distinguished Members

Christ’s commitment to free-thinking and high-achieving across many disciplines and interests has generated a range of graduates who have made major and varied contributions to the intellectual, social, artistic and sporting life of the world. Click below to find out more about some of these remarkable Christ’s people. (This list is a work-in-progress and should by no means be considered exhaustive.)

Business and Economics

Sir Ian Cheshire - (1959 - ) - British businessman
Jonathan Galassi (1949- ) - Businessman and Poet
David Ross Granger (1903-2002) - Businessman
Dr Mike Lynch (1965-) - Businessman and technology entrepreneur
Professor James Meade (1907-1995) - British economist and Nobel Prize winner
Sir Martin Sorrell (1945- ) - Business leader


Professor John Burrow (1935-2009) Modern Historian
Professor Sir David Cannadine (1950-) Historian and broadcaster
Professor Linda Colley (1949-) Historian
Professor J. P. Kenyon (1927 - 1996) Modern Historian
John Leland (c.1506-1552) - Father of English history
Professor Sir John Plumb (1911 - 2001) Historian, entrepreneur and Master of Christ's
Professor Roy Porter (1946-2002) Historian of Science
Professor Simon Schama (1945- ) Historian and broadcaster


Sir Patrick Coghlin (1945-) Lord Justice of Appeal in Northern Ireland
Baron Patrick Devlin (1905 - 1992) Lawyer, Judge, Jurist, Law Lord and life peer
Lord Irvine of Lairg (1940 -) Lord Chancellor
Lord Moore-Bick (1946-) Lord Justice of Appeal

Media & Television

Sacha Baron Cohen (1971- ) Satirist and actor
Jasmine Birtles (1962-) TV Presenter, commentator, journalist
Nina Gould (1964-) Casting Director
Natalie Haynes (1974- ) Comedian and Journalist
Duncan Kenworthy (1949-) Director and producer
Gautam Malkani (1976- ) Journalist and prize-winning novelist
Jane Martinson (1967-) Journalist
Miles Millar (1967-) Screenwriter, producer
John Oliver (1977-) Comedian and broadcaster
Andy Parsons (1967-) Comedian
James Reynolds (1974 - ) BBC Correspondent Iran
Sathnam Sanghera (1976- ) Journalist and novelist
Richard Whiteley (1943-2005) Television presenter

Politics & Government

Zeid Al-Hussein (1964-) - UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
Lady Margaret Beaufort (1443-1509) - Foundress and Mother of the Tudor dynasty
Earl Mountbatten of Burma (1900-1979) - Supreme Commander South East Asia and Viceroy of India
Thomas Nelson Jnr. (1738-1789) - Politician who signed the American Declaration of Independence
Dr Davidson Nicol (1924-1994) - Sierra Leonean Doctor, Permanent Representative to the United Nations, High Commissioner to the UK, and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations
Jan Smuts (1870-1950) - Founding influence on League of Nations (UN) and Chancellor of the University
Baron Charles (CP) Snow (1905-1980) Novelist and civil servant

Science and invention

Sir Jagadis Chandra Bose (1858-1937) - Pioneer of electro- magnetic waves
Professor John Clark (1951-2004) - Pioneer of the genetic modification of livestock
Charles Darwin (1809-1882)
Professor Sir Martin Evans (1941- ) - biologist and Nobel Laureate
Professor Alfred Cort Haddon (1855-1940) - Father of modern anthropology
Dr Yusuf Hamied (1936- ) Chemist and industrialist
Professor Anthony Hunter (1943 - ) - American Cancer Society Professor
William Lee (1563-1614) Inventor
Dr Francis (Tibby) Marshall(1878-1949) - Pioneering scholar of mammalian reproduction
Professor Anne McLaren (1927-2007) - Scientist and quiet revolutionary
Professor Robert Oppenheimer (1904-1967) - Father of the Atomic Bomb and radical activist
Lord Todd (1907-1997) Nobel Laureate, chemist and 32nd Master of Christ's
Conrad Hal Waddington (1905-1975) - Developmental biologist and geneticist
Dr John Yudkin (1910-1995) - Physiologist and Nutritionist


Ian Anthony Balding (1938-) Racehorse trainer
Gilbert Jessop (1896-1955) Cricketer and record batsman
Tony Lewis (1938-) Former England Cricket Captain
Steve Palmer (1968-) Footballer
Ian Robertson (1945-) Rugby commentator
Kieran West (1977-) Olympic Rowing Gold medallist

The Arts

Auguste Bréal (1869-1941) Painter
Clare Burnett FRBS - (1964 - ) Artist and sculptor
Sir Anthony Caro (1924-2013 ) Sculptor
Rachel Chaplin (1980-) Baroque oboist and researcher
Tom de Freston ( ) Artist
Colin Dexter (1930- ) Writer of the Inspector Morse series of books
Edward Docx (1972 - ) Author
Adetomiwa Edun (1984 -) Actor
Dee Ferris (1973-) - Artist
James Hilton (1900-1954) Novelist
Sarah Howe (1983 - ) Poet
Professor Phillip King (1934-) Sculptor
Issam Kourbaj (1963-) - Artist and sculptor
John Milton (1608-1674) Poet
Annilese Miskimmon (1974- ) Opera director
Helen Mort (1985-) Poet
Sukanya Rajaratnam (1974 - ) Art curator
Dr Charles Saumarez Smith (1954-) cultural historian, Secretary of the Royal Academy of Arts, Director of the National Portrait Gallery, Director of the National Gallery
Sir Nicholas Serota (1946- ) Director of the Tate Gallery
Dr Jeffrey Tate (1943- ) Conductor

Theology & Religion

William Paley (1743-1805) - Creationist author of 'Natural Theology' which contains a very early presentation of the watchmaker analogy
Rowan Williams (Baron Williams of Oystermouth)  (1950- ) 104th Archbishop of Canterbury (2002-2012). Master of Magdalene College, Cambridge from 2013.